Dedicated to my wife…

Read on to know what happens to men who marry in India

Man wants Rs 25 lakh from ex-wife

Posted by iluvshrutiverma on November 22, 2009

For all those people who ask whether one can fight against the system. Read the news below – how a man won all the court cases against the wife and now might get Rs 25 Lacs as compensation!

http://www.deccanchronicle.com/chennai/man-wants-rs-25-lakh-ex-wife-448

 

November 22nd, 2009
Chennai
Nov. 21: In an unusual case, a 43-year-old civil engineer has approached the family courts here seeking alimony Rs 25 lakh from his ex-wife, an assistant professor at a reputed university, whom he had divorced a year ago.

In his petition, Mr Kalaiselvan, claimed that he had lost his lucrative job in Kuwait and all his savings because of the legal battle over divorce and custody of their child.

“My ex-wife Malarvizhi was unemployed when I married her in 1997 while I had a decent job abroad,” he said. “My life was ruined after the marriage turned sour and today I am literally in the streets but Malar is well settled. The court has accepted my case and the first hearing will be held on December 15.”

Although the couple separated within a year after the marriage, Malarvizhi and Kalaiselvam applied for a divorce in 2002.

 

“Between 2002 and 2006, I had to come to India on at least 20 occasions to fight the case,” said Mr Kalaiselvan. “During this period, I lost my job.”

 

Mr Kalaiselvan said that his wife and in-laws had also filed a case against him under the DowryHarassment Act and that he spent three months in jail. “My divorce came through last year and I even got custody of the child,” he said. “But in the process I became a pauper.”

Leave a Reply

 
